Summer reflections

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

We’ve been back for few days now and even though it’s dark and pouring outside, good moods don’t leave us. Because there’s no place like home.

It’s always wonderful to visit my homeland, family and friends, but my home is here. Upon visiting Poland, I always face the same question from different people: if I wouldn’t like to move back to Poland. Well, believe it or not, I wouldn’t. I know to some, it sounds like heresy but this is the way I feel. It doesn’t make me less Polish. I was still raised on same books, cartoons, movies, jokes and food as any other Polish my age and so it is very easy for me to bond with other Polish here or anywhere. But I left Poland twelve years ago and all the most wonderful things in my life happened here and happen every day.

il_340x270-870705364_gn5o

I was so excited about the vision of spending full 6 weeks in my parents house, that I hadn’t thought how much I would miss Misi and our life together. That separation wasn’t easy on girls either. Anabel cried nearly every day and she told me : “No child should ever be away from her daddy for so long”. I don’t think we will ever do it again. But having said that, I’m glad we actually did it. Coming back to all I have, made me fall in love with it all over again. Not things, they’re just things. But my husband, my abilities and possibilities, things we do together, we grow or create, we go through.

It’s good to be home but enriched by those beautiful memories. Here my children don’t have granny and grandpa on daily basis, they don’t run wild in big gardens, meadows and fields, they don’t ride on wheelbarrows, spend weekends with cousins, explore garages, stables and barns, hang from trees, eat berries straight from bushes or plums straight from trees, don’t wake up to cock’s crowing, hardly ever see stars. Those are our Polish holidays treasures 😉 .

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SDC15084.JPG

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

 

2 thoughts on “Summer reflections

  1. Wzruszyłam się czytając, jak dzieciaczki tęskniły za Tatą. Wyobrażam sobie, że było to dla wszystkich nie łatwe, my jeszcze nie rozstawaliśmy się na tak długo. Pociechą jest ta radość, o której piszesz – gdy wraca się w kochane ramiona i można zanurzyć się w znajomą, domową codzienność. Wszystko ma swoje blaski i cienie. Myślę, że dzieciaczki będą miały wiele wspaniałych wspomnień z pobytu u Dziadków , z wycieczek po Polsce, a Ty naładowałaś akumulatory i serce 🙂 Pozdrawiam 🙂

Leave a Reply

